AFL 3 years ago

Fyfe wins second AFLPA MVP award

  • Fyfe wins second AFLPA MVP award

Fremantle superstar Nat Fyfe has been voted the AFLPA's Most Valuable Player for the second year running.

Fyfe, 23, polled 1455 votes from his fellow AFL players to take out his second Leigh Matthews Trophy on Tuesday night ahead of North Melbourne's Todd Goldstein, on 578 votes.

Adelaide's Patrick Dangerfield and West Coast pair Matt Priddis and Josh Kennedy rounded out the top five.

You might also like

"It's such an honour to have been awarded the Leigh Matthews Trophy two years in a row," Fyfe said from Perth, where Dockers and West Coast players gathered to watch the telecast.

"Having the respect of your peers is one of the highest accolades we can hope to achieve as players.

"I'm truly humbled."

Western Bulldogs skipper Bob Murphy was voted the competition's best captain, with Sydney's Isaac Heeney the best first-year player and teammate Luke Parker taking out the most courageous player award.

Bulldogs star Jake Stringer was named captain of the best 22 under 22 team - a side of the best players aged under 22 as voted by the public.

Greater Western Sydney had the strongest representation in the all-star line-up with four players - Adam Treloar, Jeremy Cameron, Devon Smith and Dylan Shiel - making the side.

0 0
please wait...